Testimonials & Reviews

4.94/5

Southern Joint Replacement Institute

Fellowship Trained Orthopaedic Surgeon located in Nashville, TN

125 total reviews

Southern Joint Replacement Institute always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 125 reviews with an average rating of 4.94 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Southern Joint Replacement Institute below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

John B.
Submitted 06/15/22
Very pleased
Susan W.
Submitted 06/03/22
Southern joint replacement was recommended to me by a physical therapist I work with. The whole process of an interior hip replacement was amazing. The 8 th floor ortho unit worked like a fine-tuned machine. The surgery was quick and I really had no pain at all through the whole process or even after being discharged home a few hours later. Dr Hodrick was great and I just can't say enough about him. After 12 days, I am driving and back pretty much to my baseline level of functioning. An incredible place!
Barbara R.
Submitted 05/30/22
This morning I was out in my front yard by 6:30 AM, feeding the 6 large, and 2 miniature rose bushes. I should have done it earlier, but I didn't. It's a job I hate. I have two really big bushes and I have to get on my knees and go under the bushes to dig around their roots to place the food. I was really tired when I got in. I was hungry, and my back hurt, but guess what did not hurt? My titanium knees.! In September of 2012, I made one of the best decisions of my life. I went to Dr. Jeffrey Hodrick, at the Southern Institute for Joint Replacement, and had my right knee replaced. A long time church friend, recommended him to me. I knew she had a bad knee, and she was recovering, and I also liked the fact that replacing joints is all they do at Southern Joint. This morning while I, ten years older, knelt on my knees, constantly, I was again thankful. I opted for one knee at at a time because, frankly I was afraid to do both at once. Dr. Hodrick said "That's probably a good idea because it is major surgery." I can only say that my recovery was swift, and I really did not have much pain. Going to my therapy was like having a part time job, but I did it, and in August of 2013 I had the left knee replaced. I can't help but think of me, 12 years younger, on a trip to Athens, feeling the need to have wheel chair assistance through the Chicago and Madrid airports. I remember my knee going out completely on a side trip to Verona from Venice which resulted in my having to have wheel chair assistance in Venice, where they had no jet bridge, and I had to be transported by ambulance to the plane and lifted up in the wheel chair to the plane because I could not climb the steps. Now, even though I am ten years older, I have taken so many trips, often exercise by walking three miles, and climbed the 360 plus steps up to the tower of Notre Dame. Southern Joint advertises by saying "When your knees, your hips, or your shoulders are making your decisions, it's time to do something about it." That's where I was. I stopped riding the tube in London, and took the bus instead, because it hurt to go up and down all the steps at the London tube stations. I did not go to Kew Gardens, or anywhere that took a lot of walking. I was taking Melaxicam daily and had been taking it for about five years. I had quit taking my killer walks at my Smoky Mountain cabin because when you have osteo arthritis in your knees and the cartiliage is being eaten away, going down hills or stairs actually hurts as much or more than going up. Luckily, I guess, my heart and lungs had long been in better shape than my feet and legs. Now my only worry about my knees is that I will wear them out, but my surgeon assures me that he wants me to exercise as long as I don't jump. I am so thankful I live in a city where I did not have to travel a long distance to have my knees replaced by Dr. Hodrick at Southern Joint Replacement. By now I would not have been able to walk at all, so thank you Lord, thank you Dr. Hodrick, and thank you Southern Joint Replacement. You rock, and so can I, still, at 75 years of age!
Jim S.
Submitted 04/09/22
I have had both hips replaced at SJRI over the past 2 years and it was a experience I will never forget. They that being everyone from the receptionists,housekeepers,nurses, and doctors were very helpful and made me and my love ones feel like family no just another patient. The best anywhere.
Carmon Y.
Submitted 02/12/22
Dr. Hodrick isn’t just a specialist, he is an EXPERT. This is the surgeon you want to use!! At 10 weeks after hip replacement, I am moving and sleeping better than I have in years. The constant pain is gone, and range of motion is significantly increased. At 46, I’m a young replacement. But I wish I’d done it even sooner. My quality of life will keep improving as I continue healing and strengthening. Thank you Dr. Hodrick!
Bob R.
Submitted 11/09/21
Very happy with the care I received. The entire staff was wonderful. Got the impression they really care about the patient.
Jan R.
Submitted 06/28/21
A great visit! Very informative!
Wanda D. S.
Submitted 04/20/21
The day of my shoulder surgery I had a great care team, from the time I arrived until the time I left. I was very pleased with how I was treated and the care I received.
Linda G.
Submitted 01/13/21
A great combination of professional, friendly, caring and efficient.
PAMELA A.
Submitted 01/12/21
Very nice visit, fast and answered all my questions. also both knees were hurting so bad. They suggested a treatment that I accepted. I am a lot better . Big shout out to Dr Hodrick and the staff. Was very friendly and professional.. I would and have recommended this office to my family and friends
Richard F.
Submitted 12/25/20
Dr Hodrick said he was going to “fix” me. A bright spot in my tortured state.
Jim T.
Submitted 12/23/20
Exceptional care given by a very professional and personable staff!
Fonda B.
Submitted 12/19/20
Dr. Jeffrey Hodrick is an exemplary surgeon & is skilled in robotic expertise for knee replacement & Fellowship trained. He was my surgeon just recently for my left knee replacement in November of 2020 and my right knee replacement in December of 2008. He is superb! So caring & he & his team give outstanding and thorough care before and after surgery. Both surgeries were so successful!! This doctor is tops in all expertise & performance. He has genuine compassion for his patients & is so thorough. He has an awesome personality & his incisions are perfectly straight.
Paul P.
Submitted 12/14/20
Great
Gary E.
Submitted 11/13/20
Thanks for taking good care of me on the day of my surgery. At home now working on my recovery. After the first two weeks I am exceeding my expectations and very optimistic for a complete recovery.
Bobby D.
Submitted 10/29/20
Great service and great professional people working there
Randy H.
Submitted 10/16/20
Outstanding and Professional in the highest degree. Would recommend to everyone.
Steve T.
Submitted 10/15/20
I know that I'm always going to get all the information I need to make an informed decision about my orthopedic needs.
Kathy & Woody F.
Submitted 10/15/20
Coming here from Wyoming knowing no medical people we quickly gained confidence in all the staff. the process of "robotic knee surgery was explained in detail and the results and healing process have been better then when her first knee was replaced.
Penelope D.
Submitted 10/12/20
Dr. Hodrick and the team at Southern Joint Institute are incredibly thorough with diagnosis, treatment and surgery. The staff and Dr. Hodrick went through every detail of my medical history, and took the time to communicate my diagnosis. This is the first MD that has gone over my MRI’s and specific strategies to determine treatment. This built trust and demonstrated compassion and care. This facility and team are wonderful!